22-25.4.2017 Shifani and Mahesh, NZ/Australia.

Thank you so much for making a special time so special. Very comfortable stay. Everything was so well thought through in the house. The Spa! The views and the privacy. Couldn’t ask for more. See you soon sometime. We will definitely be back,  thank you.

I love the spa and I finally met Alan.  He is a very nice guy. Opened the spa for us and they let us check out late at 11 a.m. Thank you Alan and Lyn, from Aussie mate.

15-18.4.2017 Hanspeter and Romy, Switzerland.

We really enjoyed to stay in this lovely place in the middle of native bush. We also enjoyed the excellent house and nice hosting of Lyn and Alan.  All the best and thank you.

8-9.4.2017 Claire and Laurence, UK

Absolutely wonderful. Perfect for our all too​ brief visit for my son’s wedding. We will be back! Thank you!

29-31.3.2017 Lyndell and Ralph, Jos and Tony, Auckland

Thank you for making our stay such a pleasant one, and putting up with our untidy track rubbish all over the place. You have a wonderful haven;  peaceful, beautiful memorable and the view done towards the sea is something we won’t forget. Thank you Alan for coming to get us at Muriwai and to both of you,  your flexibility was really appreciated. (these delightful 4 were elderly well seasoned Trampers who were determined to complete the whole Hilary Trail in their own time.  They even had to  add 1 more day and wait out the rain.  Very intrepid! Lyn)

  28.2-3.3.2017 the Raucher family, Missouri, USA

Lovely place and Lyn went above and beyond with directions and suggestions.  Thank you!

8-20.2.2017 and again 3.3-29.3.2017 Ruth and David, The Netherlands

Having a son, daughter-in-law and three grandchildren living and Auckland, we stayed here for the fourth year for 6 weeks. This B&B is a second home, Lyn and Alan have become good friends and each year we are looking forward to coming back. This is the place to relax, far away from the worries and problems of yourself and the world. Hopefully we will come back next year.

6.2.2017 Martin and Tara, Sandringham, Akl.

Lovely accommodation and hosts!!

25-27.1.2017 Millard and Mary, Verona, Wisconsin, USA

24-25.1.2017 Eddie and Lou, Arkansas, USA and Argentina.

Thanks for an amazing stay and for pulling the car out of the ditch. We really enjoyed seeing glow worms for the first time. Thanks so much for your hospitality. You’re a sweet couple. Hope to come back some day!

20-22.1.2017 Felix and Elissa.

Thank you for a great stay, lovely peaceful location and wonderful hosts.

13-14.1.17 Steve and Zeesha, Onehunga, Auckland.

No words can express. Thank you for everything.

11-13.1.2017 Eileen and Cindy, North Shore, Auckland.

Loved the hot bread and fresh juice, along with the rest of the breakfast and our stay.  Hopefully we will get the chance to come again too.  You have created such a beautiful home and environment which has been a treat for us to share.  Best wishes.

8-11 .1.17 Colette and Andrew, Taumaranui

Lovely place to stay, friendly helpful Hosts and beautiful scenery. Thank you.

1- 4.1.17 Jonny and Alice, Titirangi.

Was exactly what we needed after our wedding. The house is great, clean and has everything needed. Lyn is a great host, friendly, helpful and great hospitality. Love the self catering/b and b Vibe. Would happily stay longer.

29.12.16-1.1.2017 Jesse and Ed, Auckland.

What an amazing place this is!  Great way to relax and unwind after a long year. The native bush and the 2 is a really lovely and the bush walk is really nice and we’ll maintained. Lynn and Allen a really friendly and accommodating and go out of their way to make sure you have a lovely time. Would love to return here to stay again soon.

21-23.12.2016 James and Bex, Rye, England.

Gorgeous setting, lovely accommodation, delicious bread and provisions and such cheerful, kind hosts- what more could one wish for? We will be back on our next trip to NZ.

9-11.12.2016 Phylicia and Chene, Mt Eden, Auckland.

Thank you!  See you again soon.  Beautiful, charming and the Hosts are just awesome.

3-5.12.2016 Agneta and Gunnar, Sweden

For professional hosting and yet unusually personally friendly, an excellent house, exciting bush walk, etc. We want to say Tack as valdigt mycket, thank you very much.

(They came back at the end of their trip! Lyn)

8-9.2016 We appreciated this paradise so much that we came back! Now going back to Sweden. 

On Hotels.com, they wrote,”B&B med extra allt

Detta är platsen att stanna till på om man vill ha lugn och ro, avskildhet men ändå tillgång till socialt umgänge om man vill, närhet till olika naturupplevelser och ett värdpar som gör att även högt ställda förväntningar överträffas”.  Translation from Swedish = This is the place to stop if you want peace and quiet, seclusion but access to social gathering if you want to, proximity to different nature experiences and a host couple that will surpass even high expectations.

1-23.11.2016 Hilary and Tony, United Kingdom.

Thank you for a wonderful stay and for sharing this little patch of paradise!  We look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.

31-2.11.2016 Brad and Emma, Whangarei, Organic dairy farmer.

We had a lovely two nights here with good weather, although we have rain as we leave today. Our stay has been very relaxing and comfortable. Your knowledge is a treasure and we really enjoyed reading through all your information booklets. We really appreciate your sustainable approach to living as we aspire to live much the same way in daily life. Thank you and we will be back.  Thank you so much for this awesome stay your place is very comfortable and you’ve been great hosts. It was too short we will come back with pleasure.

14-16.10.2016 Dominica and Jack, Auckland, Our 5th anniversary!

We absolutely loved this place…such a lovely bach in a stunning setting!  Thank you so much for your kind hospitality and making us feel so welcome….and for the wonderful breakfast too!!  Without a doubt, we will be back!!  Feeling fully recharged on our way back to the big smoke now!!  We look forward to seeing you again soon! love, Dominica and Jack.

2-4.10.2016 Amy and Karl, Auckland

We were here on the 21st of December in 2014.  It was such an amazing place we had to come and stay again for our 2yr Anniversary. Thank you so much for a fantastic weekend.  It has been amazing all over again.  See you again in the future.

24 – 26.9.2016 Wendy, New York.

 I will treasure this weekend, always. Inspiring, refreshing,  relaxing- all in superlative terms. Lyn, thank you for sharing your vast knowledge of the Kauri trees and pointing out the beautiful Clematis in the tree tops. I so appreciated your hospitality and warmth in making this oasis come alive. And, of course, your fabulously designed eco Cottage equipped with many creative comforts was a total plus, as well. Thank you!

9-11.9.2016 Sabrina and Brent, Auckland.

Thanks for the wonderful stay!  Amazing hospitality and a perfect location.  We loved the juice and fresh bread in the morning and the spa was a definite highlight after a long day exploring.

1-4.9.2016 Desirei and Paul, Karetu, Bay of Islands.

Had a fabulous stay!  Warm welcome, really comfortable accommodation and a very unique, stunning place to stay.  Thanks for having us.  ps. LOVED the homemade bread and juice!!

18-19.8.2016 Dan and Tom (Wellington, Auckland).

A great spot.  What a way to spend the last part of the Hilary Trail.  Delicious breakfast, coffee, and the home baked bread was demolished in under 5 minutes!  Thank you very much.  (Lyn- these intrepid pair carried and used tents all the way.  It was Dan’s birthday treat to have a comfortable night and the spa was an asset)!

15-17.7. 2016 Ash and Jordan, Wellington.

Amazing place to stay, so peaceful. Thank you and Alan for letting us stay at such a beautiful place.

1-4.7.2016 Heather, Alan and Cathryn, Gulf Harbour.

Thanks Lyn and Alan for your wonderful hospitality… Such a beautiful spot.  ( These Guests enjoyed a wine tasting and lunch at Soljans Vineyard at Kumeu, great choice for a special occasion, Lyn).

11-12.6.2016 Don & Dianne, Akl and Central New York.

One night not enough. Every window offered another great vista. Waking up to a spa. NZ breakfast was awesome. Thank you from both of us.

27-30.5.2016 Bruce, Auckland.

Dear Lyn and Alan,  thanks for letting us stay at such an awesome place.  Thoroughly relaxing time here with trips to the beach and spa.

3-5.4.2016,Jared and Gareth, Auckland.

Another lovely stay. We leave feeling recharged and rested. Thank you so much.  Arohanui. We will be back this year.

19-31.4.2016 Vivien and Peter, New Lynn, Auckland.

Have been in Auckland for 13 years. We didn’t realise we are so close to Paradise: song of the wood pigeons; breeze from dense bushes; fish scales like black shiny sand; foggy heartshaking sea; starry sky watching from the spa; cosy bed and homemade breakfast.   We are feeling that we are part of the nature and part of the history. Peter promised giving me a special 20th anniversary. Lyn and Alan,  your beautiful flowers and lovely card and stories, this experience ma1

de an indelible impression on me. Thank you for sharing your world with us. We hope one day we will come back with Gloria sharing the story of Arahoe.

31.3-3.4.2016 Barbra and Max, Picton, NZ.

I have read all the comments written before this. There is nothing more that I can say-the words say it all. It has been both a pleasure and a privilege to have spent a few days in such a place- hosted by two wonderful people. Thank you very much- we will meet again.  Barbara. The bush walk is great well worth the walk back up. Native bird life around, fantastic. Max.

24-25.3. 2016 Momo and Aoife, Queensland, Australia.

Our week long vacation in New Zealand included 2 days with Alan and Lyn at their marvelous property here in the waitakere Ranges. We can’t say enough about the hospitality and genuine warmth of our new friends. The advice and recommendations which they have provided here have us looking forward to the second half of our journey quite eagerly. The vacation Cottage is truly a work of passion that has been carefully constructed to 8 any weary Traveler: comfortable bedding; a well equipped kitchen and a marvelous aspect from the living room made us feel well rested and relaxed. We hope to see both of you in the future and anticipate returning here for future vacation experiences to NZ.

15-17.3.2016 Rody, Christine, the young Rody and Sophia, California, USA.

After 2 weeks of travel with our twins, including Costa Rica and Peru, we were really, really looking forward to our first visit to New Zealand and Lyn and Alan’s bush sand and sea. our hopes were so nicely exceeded. We arrived with a wife/mom under the weather and everyone else exhausted and stressed from a nearly 30 hour travel day.  Now preparing to leave on our 3rd day, we are restored, rested, thinking a couple more days here would’ve been dandy AND already cherishing our new and fond memories. Such thoughtful warm hospitality, Lyn’s knowledge of local flora and fauna and her sharing of it are priceless, as is Alan green/ sustainability perspective.  The walk on Sheila’s track is not to be missed,  beautiful and testament to their incredible and inspiring commitment to their land, friends,/Guests and hard work ethic. Many thanks and love from us all.

10-13.3.2016 Amy and Conor, Ireland.

Thank you Lyn and Alan for such a wonderful stay in your slice of paradise. You truly have a beautiful home and we were so glad to finish our trip in NZ here. We had a great time relaxing and also canyoning down the Kitekite Falls but the highlight was the lovely nature walk this morning. Please look us up if you are ever in Ireland. Thanks (Lyn- explanation- This private track is our passion!  So we love walking down sharing the story with Guests of its construction and identifying the varied native bush).

8-10.3.2016 Chelsey and Peggy, USA.

After Peggy’s long flight and my many nights of little sleep (a backpackers life) I was beyond thankful for our time here. I loved the relaxation and especially enjoyed the time we spent with Lyn talking about New Zealand, birds, the trees, the beautiful path (track) and listening to her great stories. If you get the chance, make sure you take the walk while you’re visiting. Thank you so much Lyn and Alan for your warm welcome and the comfort you provided us during our stay. I am in love with this place and would love to return someday. Chelsey.

7-8.3.2016 Nicole and Chris, America.

We’ve decided to get an early start on our journey. I guess we are still on US time. We can’t thank you enough for the hospitality and making us feel so welcome upon our arrival to your beautiful country, cheers.

5-7.3.2016 Lydia and Daniel, Akl.

A very special place you have here. We absolutely loved it. We stayed here 2 nights after our wedding, so special

2-24.2.2016 Jean and Billy, Scotland.

An amazing, unique, New Zealand bush experience.  Thank you so much Lyn and Alan for your wonderful hospitality.

21-22.2.2016 Chris & John Wellington; Jo, Brighton, UK

Had only one night here-great mistake,  The place deserves much longer.  Enjoyed the morepork and other night noises too difficult to identify.  And the Breakfast…..!

20-21.2.2016 Ina and Chririn, Germany.

It was only a coincidence that we stayed with Lyn and Allen but for sure a nice one. We have been traveling a lot and can say that we rarely met hosts that are so passionate about the wellbeing of their guests. Although arriving last minute we felt home right away. Lyn and Alan are extremely kind people and their house is simply stunning. We enjoyed our stay so much and would come back anytime we are in NZ. Thank you for your kindness.

15-17.2.2016 Debra and Peter, York, UK.

Alan and Lyn have made a real paradise here in the bush. We can  not think of a better way of getting that first time New Zealand experience. The hard work and effort that has gone into creating this wonderful b and b speaks for itself. The hospitality was second to none and maybe one day we will return.

14-15.2.2016 Ofeina and John, Auckland.

Thank you so much for a wonderful experience .  From the first hello to the saying goodbye, we cannot stop smiling. This has been a stay to remember and we are so happy to celebrate our first wedding anniversary here. Wonderful hospitality. PS we loved our breakfast:)

9-10.2.2016 Franco and Sabrina, Italy.

Amazing place and wonderful people. Thanks for your time. Franco

Splendid view

3-6.2.2016 Ian, Christchurch.

Thanks a lot for accommodating me. I have had a  pretty busy times with family wedding. Thanks so much would love to come again at a more leisurely pace, and perhaps with Anna Maria. It’s beautiful here.  Take care, regards Ian

24-25.1.2016 Ken and Cris, Auckland.

Thank you for a most delightful eco sustainable place to stay. we slept most soundly and the fresh bread and juice really was a delightful way to start the day. We will certainly recommend this place to our friends and acquaintances. All was perfect. We shall remember this place fondly and think of it often. Thank you for being eco-conscious. Blessings.

19-22.1.2016 Ann Marie and Maggie, Pennsylvania and her daughter from New York.

What a wonderful place to stay! As soon as we pulled in, Lyn was there waiting for us.  What a personality this woman has. I felt like I was home.  Outstanding scenery and a lovely cabin with fantastic views,  walk on their home-made trail made me feel like I was one with nature.  I’m so glad we picked here as our first place to stay.  Thanks for a great start to our trip.15-19.1.2016 Jude and Martyn, Dorset, England.

Having read through previous comments, I feel there is very little to add – comfort, space and tranquility – perfect, thank you!

12-14.1.2016  Christine and Richard, Te Puke, NZ.

Thank you Lyn and Alan for a fabulous stay- wish it was longer. We enjoyed this, your piece of paradise, as an extra special base while doing 2 of 4 days of the Hillary trail. The generous transport pickups/ shuttles including a trip to the Gannet colony; the welcome fruit cake on arrival + fresh juice after a hot day on the trail; the Fresh Provisions for our cooked breakfast + freshly baked bread; the welcome spa; the tranquil bush surrounds- native birds outside the windows/ deck and comfy chair at big windows overlooking it all; an amazing sunset from the deck and special night walk to glow worms.  We have loved our time here- really special. Thank you so much.

8-11.1.2016 Connie and Anthony, Melbourne, Australia.

Thank you for a wonderful experience. Beautiful setting amongst the bush.  An amazing track created by Alan and Lyn. What an Oasis. We enjoyed walking to nearby waterfalls, visiting the animals farms and eating at the local  RSA.  Great advice offered by Lyn. Thank you and wishing you a peaceful 2016 with good health. Sincerely Connie and Anthony.

21.12.15-4.1.2016 Gabi. Lena, Christoph Augsburg, Germany.

We are thankful for Lyn and Alan’s help to do the first steps after a 30 hour long distance flight. Thanks for the lots of information about trees, birds, what to do, where to shop,  how do you do the washing, to book a trip, to use the spa, where to have great walks, about BSS, where are the best exhibitions, how do kiwis live…. all things we need to explore NZ in an easy way.  Thank you for your warm hearted welcome and to help celebrate Christmas for Lena. Maybe see you again?!?

14-19.12.15. Debbie and Mick, East Sussex, England.

Wonderful hospitality, everything one needs for a restful break. Slept like a log. So much walking, wonderful.

11-13.12.2015 Richard and Olya, AKL.

What a fantastic weekend we had. A great way to start the rest of our lives together! This place has everything you could want for a getaway. Great views, lots of birds and so much to do. (He proposed, she accepted):)

3-10.12.2015  Laurel, and Jay, Barbara and Rodney, Arkansas, and Arizona, USA.

We had such a fantastic time! I am so sorry we forgot to write in the guest book….(emailed later)

We have told everyone about our stay with you and have posted pictures on facebook. …I hope to return and just soak up the atmosphere.   Your home was a place for me to renew and refresh. We loved the bread and fresh made juice each morning and your enthusiasm and knowledge were just wonderful. Thank you so much for such a great experience.

28-29.11.2015 Christine and Tracey, Auckland.

Spacious. Lovely in the bush.  Good to  have a break from the city. love the garden, flowers and the Tuis . Now have the sweet pea seeds and Christmas cake recipe to bring back this happy time with my daughter.  Thanks for your great hospitality.

19-24.11.2015 Tony and Neala, Auckland.

We loved our relaxing stay out here in the “wild” west.   Thanks Lyn and Alan for your attentive hosting:)

31.10-2.11.1015 Alyssa and Josh, Swanson, Auckland.

Thank you so much for the wonderful hospitality. We loved the place as soon as we arrived and thought that the little touches that were left for us were so thoughtful and lovely! Lyn is very welcoming and accommodating and it was lovely to meet her! The view and wildlife alsofantatastic! We will definitely be back in the future , thank you so much. Love

24-26.10.2015 Martina and Leo, Auckland.

What a fantastic place! Thanks Lyn for a wonderful stay, we’ll be back! Loved the glow worms.

17-19.10.2015 Dee and Barry, Geelong, Vic. Australia.

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay homemade goodies and advice. Only wish we could have stayed longer…oh well, will just have to come back one day. Loved the surrounding bush too. Lyn is a wonderful warm lady who made us feel very welcome. She really cares about her Guests.

11-13.10.2015 Hannah and Seth, Mangere, AKL.

What a truly blissful way to unwind after our wedding.

Seth even debated whether we should just stay here rather then continue on to Rarotonga. Thank you so much Lyn and Alan.

4-6.10.2015 Julia, Grant, Leo and Matt, Waiheke Island, Akl.

Thank you got sharing your wonderful accommodation. A great place for a break in the bush,: a slice of paradise, loved your bush walk, the spa and exploring the Beach. Thank you for your hospitality and all the kindnesses.

3-4.10.2015 Chris and Peter, Bayswater, Auckland.

Great place for a break after 3 days tramping on the Hillary Trail, very comfy, spacious and great Hosts.

1-3.10.2015 Tania and Colin, Melbourne, Australia.

Our first night in New Zealand! What a wonderful treat. Lyn and Alan, your hospitality was greatly appreciated. Wish we could stay longer….next timeJ

11-12.9.2015 Sylvia and Duncan, Auckland and Whitianga.

Thank you so much for having us stay at your beautiful place. Lovely and friendly Hosts, for whom nothing was a problem. Extremely well set out and comfortable. Wish we could have stayed longer!

20-21.9.2015 Tim and Toni, Auckland.

Beautiful spot and wonderful Hosts. Thank you. The spa was amazing.

29-30.8.2015 John and Helen, Auckland.

Thank you AGAIN for having us. Your B&B is a very special place to us. We had the most relaxing stay. Wonderful to see you and Tui again. See you again we’re sure! Love, John and Helen x x x

21-23.8.2015 Gareth and Jared, Auckland.

We needed a weekend away from the noise, traffic, busyness and grind of Auckland City. Bush Sand and Sea was our escape and it has been fabulous. Thank you Alan and Lyn for creating an amazing B&B. X Arahanui.

20-21.6.2015 Eve and wade, Auckland.

Thank you for being so accommodating and welcoming to us for our last minute start. We loved it here!

19-20.6.2015 Lissy and Luke, Auckland.

Amazing! The perfect place to switch off from the outside world. Thank you!

You’ve done a great job. Will recommend to everyone.

1.6.15 Alan and Susie, St Heliers, Akl.

Absolutely beautiful spot, very relaxing, great to wait up to fresh bread and juice. Will definitely return.

22-24.5.2015 Samantha and Hank, Titirangi, Akl.

The perfect weekend getaway. Fantastic location, great facilities and lovely Hosts. Who could ask for more?

18-20.5.2015 Henry and Margot, Melbourne.

Everything everyone has written is true. This is a beautiful place, and Alan and Lyn’s deep love of their land, and their dedication to caring for it is inspirational. Thank you for a special experience.

1-4 May 2015 Tim, Melbourne and son Jake, North Shore, Akl.

Exactly what the Dr ordered. A couple of days escape and lots of stunning views at every corner. Thank you so much for your generosity in dropping us at the beginning if the Hilary Trail

23-26.4.2015 Haley and Bruce (now Mr and Mrs Simpson):), Auckland.

Lyn and Alan, thank you so much for sharing this beautiful spot with us. W spend every summer at Bethells, but up here feels like we are in another paradise. We will be back as the is so much more to experience here. Your hospitality was amazing. PS. thank you Tui for watching over us.

11-13.4.2015 Ellie and Justin, Auckland.

Had a wonderful start. Thank you for the warm hospitality, we felt so welcome: )

4-6.4.2015 Mel and Michael, North Shore, Auckland.

What a beautiful place to enjoy our Easter escape from

the bustle and bustle of the North Shore. Alan and Lyn have created a small piece of paradise- thank you for sharing it with us. Spa pool very lovely but topped by the glow-worms    .

2-4.4.2015 Alan and Connie, Montana, USA

Thank you Lyn and Alan for creating this special place! We enjoyed our last two nights in New Zealand relaxing in a beautiful setting- sure to evoke fond memories for a long time.

25-26.3.2015 Shirley and Cheryle, Queensland, Australia

I can return home to Australia knowing that my daughter Robyn rests in a beautiful place. Many thanks to our gracious hosts, Alan and Lyn, for their caring and help to get to the beach, love and hugs from Shirley.

Many thanks for your warm welcome and hospitality. We return with wonderful memories and photos to treasure forever. Love always, Cheryle.

21-22.3.2015 Jannie and Chris, Auckland and USA

a slice of Kiwi Heaven that provided a fitting reunion after 38 years. Lovely, thank you.

15-17.3.2015 Neville and Jeni, Tuahiwi, Christchurch

Thank you for sharing your little patch of paradise with us. Loved everything about your place and the fresh home-made bread was the best. Many thanks.

5.3.2015 Sara and Kayne

You are blessed with a beautiful sanctuary here! We had a restful and peaceful start, exactly what we were after. Thanks!

9-13.3.2015 yes 33 nights, Ruth and David Modderman, Rockanje, the Nerhlands.

For the third time, we have started in our “second home”, this time for nearly five weeks. And although everything is so familiar for us now, we again enjoyed every minute. Having a son, daughter in law and grandchildren in Auckland, bush sand and sea is an awesome place for us to rewind after lovely, but busy days, with the grandchildren. The soiree given by Lyn and Alan was unforgettable. The Jim’s cafe on Friday evening, is for us now, also an opportunity to meet Lyn and Alans friends. We are getting to know each other by now. It is always difficult to say goodbye, but we can’t wait to see each other again. Thanks and hugs from us. Ruth and David.

5-7.2.2015 Kerry and Stacey, Hamilton

Wow, what an amazing place, so peaceful and relaxing. Just what we needed. Lyn, you are so lovely! Lyn and Alan, you are such amazing Hosts. Thank you so much for making our stay amazing and for the lovely treats. We will be back!

3-4.2.2015 Zoe and Alex, Auckland

Thanks for an amazing stay and the spa was great, perfect end to a day.

24-26/1/2-15 Karen and Leon, Auckland said on Bookabach.

Lovely place to take wedding photos, and for our honeymoon. Our hosts were very helpful and accommodating. The bach is beautiful and set amongst lovely nature walks. We would highly recommend Bush Sand and Sea to all who want a peaceful getaway in a lovely tranquil setting.

16-18.1.2015 Kura, and Ngarino, Auckland said on Bookabach

A peaceful and private sanctuary that provides all the essentials (and more) for a weekend away. Right in the midst of nature surrounded by native birds. Clean and tidy, no need for anything else.

10-14.1.2015 Wynne, Auckland said on Bookabach.

A fantastic spot for our first night together as husband and wife. Lovely quiet location and a stunning bush walk down to the creek to see the glow worms, we highly recommend the walk to all guests. A great location to access Bethells Beach and the surrounding bush walks.

6-7.1.2015 Ashley and Ellie, Auckland and UK.

What an amazing first time in Bethells. Thank you so much for having us in the most beautiful spot. We will be back next year. What a treat your hospitality was. Thanks again. Enjoy 2015.

2-4.1.2015 Colin and Diana, Silverdale, Auckland.

What an unspoilt piece of paradise indeed! So thankful we could spend some downtime here and we’re sorry to say goodbye, Thanks again.

29-31.12.2014 Ken and Wendy, Reading, UK; Katy, Durham, UK; Calum, Wellington, NZ

A great 2 days to finish our tour of the North Island, Thank you for such a warm welcome and sharing your piece of paradise.

28-30.12.2014 Paul and Heather Collins, Akl

—a piece of heaven nestled in native bush. Thank you for the hospitality, kindness and retreat provided…you have surpassed every expectation.

View bookings calendar and rates

 

 

 

26-28.12.14 Kathleen & Gareth, Hamilton, NZ and Castle Rock, CO, USA

We had an amazing visit in this unexplored part of NZ (to us). We hope work continues on the bush walk as we both think it is an amazing little bonus to staying here. It’s very nice to see such a good balance between looking after the world we live in yet not sacrificing the comforts of modern living. We will not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for what it offers.

22-25.12.2014 Yvonne & Torsten with Alexander, Nina & Marcus, Mannhein, Germany

Dear Lyn and Alan, We will always remember your place where we stayed for our wedding! You’ve been a very welcoming host and we enjoyed our time here very much! We hope that one day we’ll be able to come back and show that place to our children. All the best for you, Yvonne and Torsten.

19-21.12.2014 Amy and Karl, Auckland.

Such an amazing weekend! Thank you for the bread and juice-so good. The spa was lovely! Had the best relaxing weekend and will definitely be back in the near future!

13-14.12.2014 Jodi, Sneha and Denise, Auckland

Could not think of a more perfect place to celebrate a special friend’s birthday. Absolutely breath-taking. Lyn, you are amazing and your hospitality is out of this world. I guarantee we will be back, many more times, and be sure to share our new found treasure.

28-30.11.2014 Ali and Dave, Auckland.

Thank you for a wonderfully relaxing weekend. Lovely Hosts, brilliant house with everything we needed. We would love to return.

19-23.11.2014 Peter and Alison, Crick, Northamptonshire, UK.

A great return visit to a lovely place. We were very grateful to Lyn to run us around on our car so we could complete our Hilary Trail route. (note, this couple were unable to complete 2 sections of the 43km Trail due to inclement weather, so they returned and had a successful trip this time round).

14-16.11.2014 Donna and Grant, Pukekoke, Auckland

Such a beautiful place, we loved the bush walk and admire all the effort you’ve made into building the track. Just what we needed to recharge our batteries.

8-9/11/2014 Chris and Jess, Auckland, “Thank you so much for a delightful two days and much needed relax overnight.  What a great spot, and such lovely Hosts.  We will be back!”

View bookings calendar and rates

 

 

1-3.11.2014 Tracy, Te Awamutu

I am so glad I came! What a wonderful magical place. Your hospitality is amazing. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful haven. I leave feeling so relaxed and rejuvenated and will definitely come back for another stay.

3-5 October 2014 Chris, Vicki and Molly (Nan) Whenuapai, Auckland

Lovely and relaxing spot! Just what we all needed, a relaxing weekend away. Thanks.

20-22/9/2014 Bex and Milo, Auckland

We had a wonderful time. Although it was a wet and stormy weekend we loved watching the lightening out the beautiful big window in the lounge. Even the spa in the rain was extremely relaxing. The small touches like the towels, linen and cleaning included along with the homemade fruit cake and freshly squeezed orange juice made the whole thing that little but more memorable. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this wonderful place. Thank you so much 🙂

15-17/9/2014 Andy and Fran, United Kingdom

A fabulous stay- wish it was longer. Great hospitality and loved the walk to Bethells Beach. Thank you! Ps. Comfy bed! (Guests can walk through private property, with permission, through bush and crossing sand dunes,  to the beach in about 40 minutes. Lyn)

13-14/9/2014 Ben and Jeanette, Whangarei

What a great spot in the treetops! Thanks you for your hospitality. We really enjoyed all the little touches, such as the hot homemade bread and juice, a yummy breakast it was!! Thank you

5-7.9.2014 Sandra and Nicola, Wellington

Thank you so much for such a lovely stay in your beautiful place. We’ve had a delightful restful and rejuvenating time. Thanks again, we will be back.

30.8-31.8.2014 John and Helen, Auckland

Thanks for being such wonderful Hosts. One of the most relaxing places we have ever stayed. We’ll definitely be back.

6-8 June 2014 Shelley and Marcus, Auckland

A wonderful relaxing spot- particularly enjoyed the homemade bread and juice along with the bush walk right on the doorstep! Much impressedJ

13-16.6.2014 Kelly and Steve, Auckland

Placed on Finda and Bookabach- Fantastic place – a home away from home. The hosts were lovely – the right balance of assistance coupled with allowing a romantic, peaceful and exclusive break which is exactly what we were after. We loved the extra touches; breakfast goodies, fresh juice and bread along with the homely comforts of dressing gowns and encouraged use of slippers. The private track was beautiful. We definitely plan on coming back!

Just a quick note to say thank you so much for our 3 nights at your bach. It was absolutely perfect for us and your hospitality was spot on – we were really looking for solitude and peace and you allowed that for us, so a very sincere thank you.

The extra touches were so lovely too and most unexpected. It made such a difference – supplying the breakfast goodies was wonderful and we really appreciated it. In fact, we spoke about it alot over the weekend. It really felt like a home away from home. Your juice was amazing – I haven’t stopped talking about it to Steve and am inspired to get a juicer just to replicate your recipe J We definitely hope to be back. :)Many many thanks

31.5-2.6.2014 Bernadette and Richard, Brisbane, Australia

We loved our quiet, sun-filled days here in “Paradise”: walking, exploring by day, soaking in the beautiful spa at night, (after glow worm viewing, stars above), birds, forest-magical. Kia ora, ka kite ano!

View bookings calendar and rates

 

 

Royce and Kirsten, Nelson 30-31.5.2014

Hi Lyn, Thanks for an amazing evening. We spent a good 1/2hr walking along th creek, looking at the glow worms, eels, whitebait- the creek is alive! This is a magic spot, we are very envious.

3.5-4.5.2014 Rob and Nona, Waiheke.

We really enjoyed our super-mini break away-especially the diverse bush you’ve nurtured so well. We felt very relaxed and comfortable. Thank you!

23-27.4.2014 Rachel and Greg, Wellington.

We loved the peaceful bush setting and the spa and it was the perfect base to explore the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

22-23.4.2014 Marta and Kicab, North Carolina, USA.

Thanks for sharing your spot in Paradise. Hope we will be able to return and stay longer,

From the Airport, Marta added…”Lyn, Thanks so much for the lovely visit we had with Alan and you. Our stay with you was the highlight of our trip. We are at the airport and heading home. Cheers, Marta” ( This was special, they had spent 7 weeks in NZ, and just one final night with us, so praise indeed! Lyn)

20-22.4.2014 Sandra and Paul, Wellington.

A restful spot that was ideal for us. Thank you.

12-13.4.2014 Rhonwen, Catherine and Francis, Auckland.

Dear Lyn and Alan, Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in your beautiful retreat. We particularly enjoyed drinking our wine, eating cheese and crackers in the spa, watched over by the delightful Tui.

5-6.4.2014 Luz and Breck, Auckland.

Thanks for the peaceful respite and very complete kit for self-catering AND (ingredients) for cooked breakfast.

4-5.4.2014 James and Sally, Auckland.

I was surprised by what an amazing location my wonderful girlfriend has chosen as a birthday present for me. This place has recharged our souls with a tranquility and fantastic hospitality. I will be sure to spread the word about this amazing place.

28-30.3.2014 James and Vicky, Auckland.

James- What an absolute treasure trove! Literally felt the stresses melt away. Dawn, bush walks, sand dunes and spa! Thanks for your hospitality and the retreatJ

Vicky- thank you so much for the peace and tranquility, a very special place and we hope to see you again soon. Spa was amazing and the morning delivery of hot bread and juice, you Guys rock!

22-23/3/2014 Rose and Terry, Auckland.

Wonderful! Fantastic hospitality….magnificent fresh juice, spectacular bush walk-the whole experience is a treasure. Thank you, we will tell others.

10.2-15 3 2014 David and Ruth, The Netherlands.

It was like coming home. So good to see Alan and Lyn again. We enjoyed Alan’s BBQs and Lyn’s cheese and crackers and wine. The (musical) soiree was unforgettable. Also many thanks for your help for phoning a Doctor when David was ill. There are so many things to thank you for, Lyn. Hopefully we will meet again next year. THANKS, Hugs!!! (Lyn note- these Guests have a son living locally and this is their 2nd long term visit here. Ruth has a lovely voice, sings in a choir back home, and they both like music, so we invited friends around for a “Ruth’s Soiree”. Sadly, sometimes we can all get sick while on holiday, so a minor hiccup in their plans. Good to see David recovering, but he needs fattening up when back home!)

View bookings calendar and rates

 

 

15-17.2.2014 Cath and Phill, Auckland

Absolutely stunning bach! Fantastic weekend for our wedding with great photo opportunities. Lyn is awesome! Thanks Guys.

8-10.2.2014 Judy and Jack, Boise, Idaho, USA.

Perfect! We knew we would need a couple of days to acclimate and rest after our marathon flight from the U.S. We don’t know how we were so ;ucky, however, to have found this perfect location to do just that. It was GREAT- thank you!

24.1-25.1.2014 Betty and Gerry, Orewa, Auckland

A perfect retreat, just wish we had been able to stay longer. Many thanks.

19.1.2014 Wendy and Rob, Auckland

What a lovely, peaceful place to stay. We arrived after 3 days hard tramping along the Hillary Trail and immediately enjoyed an afternoon tea on the deck overlooking the bush, followed by a relaxing spa. Dinner was delicious with excellent company and we woke next morning to the smell of the forest after rain. All very relaxing.

18.1.2014 Paul and Annie, Wellington

Thank you Lyn and Alan for your wonderful hospitality and letting us share in this beautiful, peaceful place! Thank you for making us feel so relaxed and welcome on our brief stay here!

11.1-12.1.2014 Jyoti and Gabriel, Auckland

Amazing property with lovely hosts. Fantastic amenities in the kitchen and shower, and a relaxing spa pool to boot! A real gem so close to Auckland. Hopefully will get the chance to visit again!

4-7 January 2014, Marie-Laure and Vaughan, New Plymouth

We just adored the place and around. Very relaxing time. Merci beaucoup for your hospitality. Cheers.

Thank you very much for a wonderful relaxing stay. The native surroundings are absolutely beautiful and your house is tops. Thank you for your hospitality. Cheers. Kia ora.

30.12 .13- 4.1.2014 Hamish and Karen, New Plymouth

Many thanks for a very relaxing stay. We have explored the area and have enjoyed the vast amount of Kauris and other natives. Loved the home – made bread and jams. Cheers

28-30 12 2013 Andy and Karen, Devonport, Auckland.

Thank you so much for a lovely relaxing stay. Lots of special touches that we enjoyed, the spa pool with Tui (the dog) standing guard, the lovely breakfast supplies, good walking and great quality accommodation, thanks, A&K.

13-29 December, 2013, Mandy and Tim, United Kingdom.

We had a wonderful 2 weeks stay. A wonderful place, wonderful people and wonderful location 10/10. Many thanks, Lyn and Alan, and pass on my love every time you meet my brother, Tristan, on Bethells Beach. See you again in a few years time. (Lyn note, this lovely couple had a brother living locally. They wanted to spend family time, but to also have their privacy and quiet space. We quote a lower rate for longer term stays).

8-10 December 2013, Suzanne and Murray, KaikoheThanks very much for a relaxing stay.  Lovely quiet bush setting and we had great weather.  Thanks again.

5-7 December 2013 Alison and Peter, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom

A wonderful warm welcome as we arrived, ‘very wet’ from Hillary Trail.  Recovered quickly as we enjoyed Lyn’s “Mum’s Xmas cake”.  A short walk on the banks of Lake Wainamu, followed by an excellent dinner and loads of good advice for the final day’s walking and transport to all locations.  This insider advice made our walk so much easier.  Thanks you to you both. (Lyn- this intrepid couple came from the UK to walk the Hillary Trail.  They had 1 day fine, 2 wet and the last was fine again.  They were unable to complete some sections due to flooded streams, so to partly recover this loss, I took them down to Lake Wainamu.  Arataki is a great start for information and we will help with logistical arrangements so that the walk is as carefree as possible.)

 

22-11-2013 Claudia, Peter and Davina, Owhango, NZ

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Bush Sand and Sea.  We enjoyed our stay and your warm hospitality very much.  The spa was a real treat after a long day of running. (This lovely Guest had just run in the annual Speight’s Ruf, 20km in the halk marathon.  A fabulous effort and the enjoyed the spa, following a sleep to recover!)

View bookings calendar and rates

 

 

12-13.11.2013 Suzanne and Jean Pierre, Paris, France

So Many thanks for all your explanation and your hospitality.  It’s a wonderful place.  Best regards.

25-27/10/2-13 Geoff and Lottie, Auckland.

Thank you, Lyn and Alan, for your warm hospitality, and for sharing this beautiful spot with your Guests.  We had a lovely stay and looking forward to returning some day.  Good luck with the path extension- it already is amazing.

23-25/10/2013 Mike and Caroline, Monmouth, South Wales.

A balm for body and soul! Lyn and Alan, you have created a little piece of paradise- you and nature make a great team.  Thank you for the welcome, provisions, transport, advice and for the evenings filled with good food, wine, humour, informative conversation and laughter.  Your hospitality and kindness have made our Hillary Trail experience so very special.  Thank you, both!

5-7.10.2013 Rian, Titirangi, Auckland.

Lovely spot, had a wonderful time.

2.9-4.9.2013 Chris and Emma, NS, Akl

Chris_and_Em has added the following review on your listing Bush Sand and Sea B&B, placed on Finda.co.nz and on Trip Advisor 9.9.2013. Rating: 5.0

Review: My wife and I recently returned from our third stay at Bush, Sand and Sea. We really love the place – it’s such a tranquil spot to relax and unwind and we’re always made to feel very welcome. The accommodation is modern and immaculately presented and the surroundings are breath taking. The amount of passion that Lyn and Alan have for maintaining the native bush and it’s bird life is inspirational and it was fantastic to see the progress that they have made with the walking track on the property (which takes you through native bush down to a stream which is lined with glow worms at night). We can also recommend the many walks in the nearby area – we especially love the coastal walk from Bethells beach to Muriwai (part of the Hilary trail) – the views are spectacular. All in all, this place is a real gem!

17-20 August 2013 Peter and Marnie, Opotiki, Bay of Plenty

A wonderful, interesting break from the daily grind!  It’s like living in a tree house!  Thank you Lyn and Alan for your wonderful, trusting hospitality.  Great walks, fascinating sand dunes, freezing Waitakere stream.

On Trip Advisor. Very close to nature, with wonderful views through tree-branches, across bush-clad hills, and down to the sand and sea, Very accommodating hosts who were only to happy to please – in an unobtrusive way. We were dropped off at the Muriwai end of the Hillary Trail, and walked back along the wild and rugged coastline to Bethells Beach; back to the calm sanctuary of our warm, comfortable home-away-from-home…Many thanks!

10-11.8.2013 Melissa, Auckland

Hi Lyn, I have been meaning to email you since we stayed last weekend but things have just been so busy.  I just wanted to say thank you so much – we had such a lovely time staying there, it was such a shame we couldn’t escape there for longer. We felt so warmly welcomed and that just really topped it all off. You really do have such a beautiful place! Thank you so much again,

8-9.6.2013 Ang and Will, Mission Bay, Auckland

Such a lovely peaceful spot.  Thank you for your great hospitality and the special little touches!  We look forward to staying longer next time.

1-3.6.2013 Leigh and Lee, Auckland

Thank you for providing us such a peaceful idyllic retreat.  We will certainly recommend you to others.  Namaste.

View bookings calendar and rates

 

 

25-26.5.2013 Jenny and Bernie, Mt Roskill, Auckland

Thank you for sharing your outstanding piece of paradise with us.  Wonderful as always to catch up with both of you.  You are very special people.

2-5.5.2013 Georgina and Uuala Taamaka, Ponsonby, Auckland

Bush, Sand and Sea, what a fitting name for a tranquil establishment!  Peaceful and beautiful surroundings, you truly feel like you’re in your own little world because it’s so quiet.  Thank you for your hospitality.  Definitely will be recommending you to all our friends and family.

27.4-28.4.2013 Naomi and John, Auckand.

We have so enjoyed staying at Bush Sand and Sea- we feel completely rejuvenated and very relaxed.  It is a beautiful place, and we are very grateful for the little extra touches that have made our stay so special.  Thank you and we hope to return one day.  Warmest wishes, Naomi and John.

20.4-  21.4.2013 Sylvie and Glenn, Auckland.

Thanks Lyn and Alan for another enjoyable stay.  We love the spa and the quiet, it feels like our own home away from home.  Hopefully we will be back for a 3rd time soon.  Thanks for the birthday card as well, the little touches are much appreciated.

11.4-13.4.2013 Helen and Alistair, Canberra, Australia.

Beautiful cabin and surroundings.  Thanks for sharing drinks and nibbles with us one night.  You made our stay so much more enjoyable by doing our shopping and organizing our first nights dinner- we really appreciated the extra efforts, many thanks again.

6-7.4.2013 Rod and Dee, Auckland

Thanks Alan and Lyn for a wonderful break away. You holiday home was the best we have stayed in.  “Life is not measured by the breathes we take but by the moments that take our breath away”.

11.3-3.4.2013!  Ruth and David, Rockanje, Holland

We have stayed in Paradise for 3.5 weeks.  Everything was perfect, the bungalow, the “garden”, and luckily, also the weather.  Thanks Lyn and Alan for your hospitality, for all the interesting discussions we had, and for the music you played for us.  We have stayed in lots of places in NZ, but Bush Sand and Sea is the top.  Hopefully we see you again next year.

7-10.3.2013 Matt and Karen, Hastings

Thanks for such a thoroughly enjoyable stay!  Lots to see and do as well as relax back here at base!  Great facilities. Great location.

2-5.3.2013 Sharon and Cynthia, Mt Eden and Franklin

Such gracious and friendly Hosts, thank you for a magical stay! Hope to visit again.

22.2-25.2.2013 Leigh and Al, Seattle, USA.  Placed on Trip Advisor.

“They had to call the police to get us to leave!  Well, not really. But we threatened this. This was a fabulous place with a fabulous couple running it. I was a little hesitant at first because it seemed to be a bit isolated and wasn’t sure how much there was to do, but there was a lot to do and it’s totally beautiful. The views are awesome. The unit is great – really more like a separate house attached to their house. Full kitchen, nice living room, big bedroom.  Unlike most kitchens, there is a basic set of supplies too. While breakfast is not served (unless you ask it to be done for a small fee) they leave you with eggs, juice and bacon to make. As far as activities, you are 5 minutes by car from a beautiful beach or take an almost 3 hour walk to and from it”.

21-22.2.2013 Gerritt and Annette, Auckland

An awesome relaxing night, fully recharged the batteries.  Thanks.  PS. Thank you for the hospitality to enjoy our 15th wedding anniversary!

View bookings calendar and rates

 

 

16-19.2.2013 Rachel and Tom, Auckland and Fiji

“I highly recommend Bush, Sand and Sea for a special getaway in an exquisite setting. The unit is clean, tasteful, modern and spacious. Big windows for the beautiful views which really are of the bush, the sand and the sea. . Also they are so close to the spectacular West Coast, so a tranquil day at the beach is also easy. Lyn and Allen are wonderful hosts who give you your space, yet at the same time, as guests you feel attended to and taken care of. We had 4 days of bliss in this high quality establishment !”

15-16.2.2013 Shayna, Cara, Veronica and James

We arrived around midnight after our friend’s wedding.  Lovely comfortable beds and an amazing breakfast!  Thank you Lyn and Alan.  We will be back again.

9-10.2.2013 Adrian and Leonie. Beach;ands, Auckland.

Thanks for  your warm welcome and a very neat and tidy place. We have enjoyed the walk in the native bush and saw quite a few birds. We had a very nice barbeque and slept like logs. I was awoken in the early morning by something, I think it might have been a Morepork flying into the window. Anyway, I went onto the deck and was amazed to hear the sea so clearly, and off course all the night sounds, especially the Moreporks. Next morning we had a very nice breakfast and left for the walk to the lake. It was very nice, and we were amazed by all the activity on and around the lake, everybody just having a good time. We then left for home and I must confess, on our way back we discussed the fact that it was actually less than 24 hours, it more felt like three days.

You have a beautiful place and we will certainly tell our friends about it.

Good luck, you are doing a stunning job of it.

2.2.2013 Mitchel and Petra, Mt Albert, Auckland

Thank you for a delightful escape.  We had a lovely stay in the beautiful setting here.  Thank you for making us so welcome.  The fruit cake and bread were so delicious!  Such a tranquil and relaxing setting to enjoy.

6-9.1.2013 Brian and Joy, Mt Wellington, Auckland.

On 9 January 2013 17:33, Brian Hooker <brianhhooker@gmail.com> wrote:

What we were looking for was some time out!.

My wife is one busy lady, a lecturer presently writing an on-line programme for distance learning at the Bible College where she is involved. A check of B&B’s lead us to www.bushsandandsea.co.nz and we stayed 3 nights. Principly, it was just ‘us’ time, and now as I reflect on that break away, a smile of appreciation acknowledges the benefit we enjoyed. Their brochure says in part…. ‘and step into our world’! We did, and found something very different from our usual way of life! It is like scuba diving for the first time…you see a whole new world under the surface! We loved the comfy bed; in fact the facilities were new, roomy, private and top class! We loved the quiet! We loved the sounds of the birds, and the natural bush, and it’s walks….we noticed the work Alan and Lyn have spent over the years carving out pathways and building solid bridges and walkways with handrails etc – (they are like pioneers) and all for our benefit as paying guests. We were a priority to them while we were there, so thankyou Alan and Lyn – you have a teriffic facility and we really appreciated our special time with you.

Brian and Joy Hooker.

1-4.1.2013 Nadine and Bryce, Wellington

Thank you for sharing this environment with so many others- you are beautiful people.

30.12.2012-1 1 2013 Sheryl and Stephen, Sydney, Australia

Thanks for an amazing stay.  We love the bush all around, the ocean and the magnetic sand.

24.12-28.12.2012 Tim, Gus and …, Ernesto and . Portugal

“Bush Sand n Sea stay here!” Reviewed on Trip Advisor January 3, 2013 NEW

This is a beautifully built cabin. A well designed and laid out kitchen/living dining space with beautiful deck spaces on either side of the cottage. Huge bay windows and sliding doors invite the luscious forest ‘scapes and beach views constantly into your vista. The cabin feels literally nestled in amongst the trees. Lyn and Alan provide great local produce for breakfasts and the kitchen is well equipped. There are also lots of great books on the local area to browse or read to get a very in depth view of the natural environment of the area. Lyn is spectacularly attentive to the needs of guests and caters when and where is possible. You can tell there is a genuine joy involved for them in receiving guests at their cottage. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to get away in the Waitakere ranges.

7-10.12.2012 Margaret, Simon and Dan, Sydney, Australia

Reviewed on Trip Advisor. December 18, 2012  “Up in the forest”

We stayed three nights at Bush Sand and Sea and could easily have stayed a week – there were so many walks and the location was so peaceful up in the trees.  Lyn and Alan were perfect hosts.  They even offered to buy groceries for us to make our first night easier after the evening flight into Auckland and they were a mine of naturalist information. Bethell’s beach is so unusual – with the wild coastline, black sands, caves, and massive black sand-dunes leading to the lake.  Lyn drove us to Muriwai beach to see the gannet colony, with white fluffy chicks (some as big as the adults).  It was mesmerising watching the adults glide right past you at eye level.  Lyn then drove us to the start of the Muriwai to Bethell’s beach walk so that we could walk 4 hours back home along the coast – stunning.  We also loved watching the Tui and wood pigeons from the balcony of the B&B, and walking through the rainforest on the property.  We recommend the nearby Cascade walk in the Waitakere ranges if you are interested in different types of trees such as Kauri.

12-15.12.2012 Hannah and Ben

We have had an amazing honeymoon!!  This place is so relaxing and beautiful…we will absolutely be back! (Hannah) and from Ben too, Thank you so much for everything, really enjoyed our stay.

7-10.12.2012 Marg, Simon and Dan, Sydney, Australia

View bookings calendar and rates

 

 

1-3.12.2012. Dasha and Guy, Auckland

“Thank you very much for your hospitality.  We enjoyed it so much.  Very tasty fresh bread.”   Feel free to edit as you like, I really liked your email, Guy- “Dasha and I really enjoyed our stay at your beautiful property. Every effort you and Alan made resulted in our stay being one of the most memorable times in our lives. Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality”

14-16.11.2012 Natalie and Michel, Montreal, Canada

Stunning location, great hospitality.  We will come back and recommend without a doubt!  Thank you!

23-24.11.2012 Hayden and Anna Auckland,

Wonderful location, so peaceful and relaxing.  Amazing hospitality and breakfast.  Thank you!  “Great place!”

Katie G-Edmonton, Canada

Reviewed on Trip Advisor December 17, 2012

The Bush Sand and Sea B&B is in a stunning location, close to Auckland but not too close. It is well equipped, modern, clean and spacious. Hospitality is great. Cannot wait to go back. Highly recommended.

24-25.11.2012 Kylie and Roger, Auckland.

We returned for our third time to this wonderful retreat and everything is as amazing as our prior trips.  Lovely to catch up with Lyn and Alan again and to compete in the Speights West Coaster, (as grueling as ever!)  We look forward to our next visit.  Many, many thanks.

4-6.11.2012 Anke and Koen, Tilburg, Netherlands

What a gem!  Our stay was too short.  You made us feel so welcome, thanks!

29-31.10.2012 Malcolm and Laura, Palmerston North

What a wonderful place to stay and base ourselves for all the lovely walks and beaches nearby.  Enjoyed having the facilities to self-cater and then eat on our private balcony in the treetops.  Very much a couples retreat.

21-22.10.2012 Charlotte (and bush baby, 3 months to go) and Ben, Auckland.

We arrived as bedraggled “wet rat” trampers, fresh from 2 days of the Hilary Trail.  Thanks for picking us up, Lyn, (sorry for arriving late).  We leave feeling rested, well fed and rejuvenated.  Particularly special was the night time spa pooling with chocolate and wine.  Many thanks.

28.9-1.10.2012 Craig and Nicola Lovegrove

“Absolutely perfect place to stay for our wedding weekend.”  The boys enjoyed soaking in the spa before getting dressed in to their wedding suits.  We enjoyed the little notes left by the Hosts, Lyn and Alan, making our stay more comfortable.  We hope to come back to celebrate wedding anniversaries to come!!  Thanks a lot.

13-16.9.2012 Andrew and Simone, Auckland

Marvellous stay thanks-beautiful spot, loved the quiet and stress-free stay.  Hot bread in the morning was such a treat.  Thanks again for your hospitality and warmth, cheers, Andrew.

31.8-3.9.2012 Bron and Pete, Laingholm, Auckland

It has felt like coming home to our retreat and oasis!  We stayed in February for one night and promised ourselves we would return and take up your “3 for 2 special”   Boy was that the best idea!  We have had an AMAZING time relaxing, thoroughly enjoying this space and reconnecting.  Thank you again for your amazing hospitality and providing this wonderful space for us to escape too.  We are rejuvenated and ready to rock and roll with the world again.  Arohanui.

24-25.8.2012 Annalisa and Thomas, Auckland This feedback placed on Trip Adviser.

“Beautiful, peaceful escape – impossible to improve on this”

Perfect getaway from the city. The unit is comfortable and cosy, with everything we needed – double glazing and a heat pump, and a lovely deck in the treetops. Lyn and alan are the best hosts – really welcoming and friendly, but allowing us enough privacy. They provided lots of lovely touches such as the fresh home baked bread on arrival and slices of home made fruit cake.

Te Henga is in my favourite part of the world, so I just loved being there. And although the house is a big walk from the beach, it is a really nice walk through a farm and then over the extensive dunes.

Walking down to see the glow worms and the weta family at night was a real highlight. As was just following the trail over to O’Neils beach in the daytime. And of course sitting in the spa as dusk fell, listening to the moreporks.

We couldn’t have asked for anything to be different. Lots of respect for our hosts for their commitment to sustainability. Wishing you all the best.

5-10.7.2012 Ian and Chris, Adelaide, AustraliaThank you Lyn and Alan for your thoughtfulness, advice, help and making our stay so enjoyable.  Wonderful ‘tree house’ experience. Review from Guests who walked the Ed Hilary Trail. 3 April 2012We planned a ‘mature-sage persons’ tramp for the more scenic part of the Ed Hillary Trail, from south Muriwai to Whatipu.  As a three day (two night) walk, staying at B and B’s, we eliminated the inconvenience and weight of tent, cooker and most food.  While this may not truly represent the rugged, testing adventure envisaged by the architects of this trail we can certainly recommend doing it this way!

Our stay at Bush Sand and Sea, in April, was just perfect;  welcoming hosts, warm and well-appointed bedroom, a spa pool to refresh the body, full kitchen facilities and ingredients to self-prepare a hearty breakfast and, by arrangement, our hosts provided us with a local takeaway dinner.   The private, quiet location with its expansive views over native bush-clad hills, and the short walk at night to the glow-worm grotto at the stream, made our stay really memorable.

Our hosts even provided pick up and drop off transport between the nearest point of the track to their lodge.   Walking the Ed Hillary Trail this way is one of Auckland’s best-kept secrets!!

Ian and Colleen;   (Auckland)

8-11.6.2012 Emily and Tom, Ponsonby, Auckland.

 Thank you so much- we had a wonderful stay here!  We enjoyed the company of the weta in the spa (Ed’s note- we have good colonies of a native cave weta (often shown to Guests)and they like to move around, good evidence that our rodent baiting is effective.  Also a common gecko lives under the spa where it is nice and warm).  The house is lovely, cosy, beautiful outlook, and the care taken in design and construction is obvious-love the effort put in to making an eco-friendly home!  Recommend the walks at Cascades followed by a drink at the Golf Club.  You are both wonderful Hosts- we hope to be back again one day.

 1-3.6.2012 Mark and Naomi, Andrew and Christie, Auckland.

Thank you for a wonderfully relaxing stay in this picturesque little hideaway.  We thoroughly enjoyed our time and the personal touches of afternoon tea, hot fresh bread each morning and juice.  Your hospitality was greatly appreciated.  Thank youJ

View bookings calendar and rates

 

 

21-22 May 2012 Kerry and Theresa, Beachlands, Auckland.

Lovely spot, fun weekend, friends old and new.  Great singalong on Sunday evening with a triangular view of the sea and sand through the wax eyed birds in the bush.  The stream is a corker!

 what a sand geologist sees

Eyes

Drawn down the valley V

See bush,

In leafed green millions swirl

As sea

Rolls in, to break

White, distant and  unheard

Then sand

Black sand

So seeming still

In rising waves alive

Of all three from vibrant cosmic dance

The one not here contained

A koru,

Nine thousand orbits young

A growing on the land

Unfurling to the Son

 5-7 May 2012 Sarah and Warren, One Tree Hill, Auckland.

We had a lovely relaxing weekend- the bush walk was amazing- great work! Thank you.

 27-30 April 2012 Richard and Donna, Howick.

Thanks heaps for a very enjoyable stay.  Peaceful and relaxing.  We really enjoyed the spa.

 20-22.4.2012 Dave and Sarah, Hamilton

We had a very relaxing and refreshing stay. Thanks so much for your hospitality.  What a great spot you have here, and the bushwalk was a surprise bonus.  Thanks for creating such a unique and delightful getaway.  Just what we needed!

 15-18.3.2012 Janet and Martin, Bardon Mill, Northumberland, England.

A wonderful experience that we shall always remember.  Accommodation, hospitality second to none.  We are honoured to be invited to Lyn’s birthday celebrations (St Patrick’s Day March 17th). kindness itself.  Thanks again and hope to see all in the near future.  God bless.  Ps. About the party: wonderful afternoon, great food, great music, and best of all, great people.  Brian on piano was amazing.  Definitely will be back-all our love.

1-2.3.2012 Tekla, New York “Home sweet home away from home!”

Lovely accomodation on the edge of a wilderness beach. The hostess Lin and her husband were wonderfully hospitable, and not only helped me find them in the middle of the night when my GPS failed, but welcomed me with open arms at last minute notice. Bethells Beach, a black sands beach with warm water, is gorgeous and has a history in the filming of such shows as Hercules and Xena. This is a must stop for travellers wanting to get away from it all. I, for one, will return.

 22-26.2.2012 Tony and Jane, Troon, Scotland.

Absolutely fabulous accommodation, great hosts, loved the little extra touches, etc.  Sorry to leave and would have loved to have stayed longer.  Thanks for everything to Lyn and Alan for being great hosts.

 18-21.2.2012 David and Kedesh, Auckland.

Thank you so much for your hospitality.  We loved staying at your little spot of heaven for the first few days of our married life so much that we didn’t want to leave.  God bless you richly, with gratitude.

12.2.2012 Bron and Pete, Laingholm, Auckland

A perfect way to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary!  Thank you Lyn and Alan for providing such a magnificent space for us to relax, reflect, laugh and enjoy each other’s company and the environment!  We will definitely come back during the year for another retreat, but for a bit longer.  Your gracious hospitality was A1 and you so deserve all the accolades in this Guest book.  Arohanui Bron and Pete.

9.2.2012 A&B Auckland

Thank you so much Lyn for your generous hospitality.  What am amazingly peaceful spot, outstanding!  We will be sure to come back and recommend.  Thanks again! B.

3-6.2.2012 Di and Sean, Auckland

I don’t think there was a better place for us to prepare for and then celebrate our wedding.  Your gracious hospitality has been so very appreciated, and the seclusion and privacy is just what we needed after a hectic few months of planning.  Thank you so much for taking care of us!  Much love, Mr and Mrs O’Hanlon.  Ps thank you for the champagne flutes-they are gorgeous!

 30.1.2012 Kurt and Clair, Matakana

A beautifully presented little haven.  Everything we would possibly need and more.  Just the perfect weekend break.  A great walk through the bush, lovely views, peaceful and relaxing.

29.1.2012 Gayle and Munro, Havelock North, NZ

Wonderful hospitality, gorgeous location.  We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return when the sun was shining and the wind calm. The hosts were very helpful – even offering their own shower when the power went off as the pump would not work. However that was for only about 30mins so wasn’t a problem. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and the little extras such as home baked bread were most appreciated.I wish we could have stayed longer.

Our response-NOTHING is TOO GOOD for our GUESTS! Thanks Gayle.  Just an explanation.  There was a sudden power failure throughout  the Waitakere area, due to a car accident.  Our Guests were to attend a wedding on the beach within 1hr, but the shower does not operate when the water pump has no power.  We had prepared for this moment, (we have a portable generator on standby), so within 20 minutes, full power was restored and they continued on schedule.

21-23.1.2012 Mike, Suzanne, Basil, Switzerland and Tobias, Christchurch.

We really had a great time in this beautiful area.  Your B&B is a beautiful place to relax and explore the exciting West Coast of Auckland.  Thank you lots for our great stay.  It will always be in our memory!  We would love to be back one day.

10-13.1.2012   Paul and Emma, Matamata

We’ve had a wonderful 3 night stay here- a perfect stay to married life.  We couldn’t have wished for a nicer place (and Hosts) to spend our honeymoon.  Many thanks for your hospitality and generosity!

9.1.2012 Christina and Ben, Auckland

Absolutely beautiful place to stay.  We had a gorgeous relaxing romantic time away from home and children…only wish we could have made it 3 nightsJ  Definitely coming back.  Such a perfect escape from life in town.  10/10 for accommodation, facilities, the breakfast and afternoon tea and the location.  You have both done a magnificent job on this apartment from ceiling to floor.  Thank you for leaving us to ourselves too!  Warm regards.

29 12.2011-9.2.2012 Greg and Sue, Auckland

Thanks for a lovely stay.  We had a very restful stay in between our visits to the Karanga Camp.

23-27.12.2011 Simone and Caroline, Auckland.

The bach is gorgeous and so quiet.  The views fabulous over the black dunes and on to the sea- a lovely spot.  Thank you for the loan of the Christmas tree, for the delicious Christmas cake and beautiful hand-crafted (flax)flowers.  We feel guilty not being able to consume all the lovely food supplied.  Lyn and Alan, you are great Hosts.  All the very best for 2012.

9-12.12.2011 Aimee and Scott, Takapuna, Auckland.

Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!  It was an awesome way to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.  We had a wonderful time and especially loved the burgers at Jims.  (Jim;s cafe, open fri and weekends summer only)

3.12.2011 Jeremy and Tabitha, Auckland

Jeremy (my new husband) and I would like to say a big thank you for all of the nice little extra details you added for our wedding night.  Not only was the accommodation beautiful with gorgeous views but the fact that you assisted my best friend when her dress broke was fantastic.

I still can’t get the smell of those beautiful roses around the cottage out of my head and it was nice to wake up in the morning to have my car moved underneath the house which stopped us from bearing the rain on Sunday. Have a great day!

27.11.2011 Andrea, Whangarei, New Zealand, and Diane Adams, Perth, Australia

Bush Sand and Sea is very handy to the Bethells Beach.  Stunning setting, jaw dropping views, peaceful.  Loved the freshly baked bread, freshly squeezed juice and home made Christmas cake.  Beautiful roses grown here.  Bed was extremely comfortable. Lots of food,  Thanks.

18-21.11.2011 Rosemary  and Dave Lind QSM

An exceptional experience.  Two warm, natural hosts giving us the benefits of their careful attention to’ detail.  Lovely setting, beautiful scenery.  Breakfast food  to die for.  The facilities are all top class.  Thank you both so much.

13.11.2011 Piet and Beka, Mt.Maunganui

Salubrious!!

30.10-3.11.2011 Cameron and Kirsten, Mt.Maunganui, NZ

“What an amazing place!  We had a great time here, and want to express our deep gratitude for your hospitality, and for agreeing to witness our wedding!  Thank you so much.”

29.10.2011 Gareth and Anna, Auckland

What a fantastic place to retreat to after a full-on wedding!  Thanks so much, Lyn, for making us feel so welcome and being so amazingly accommodating- you were definitely one id the highlights of our wedding.  Thanks so much.

9-11.4.11 Jean and Alden, Fort Wayne, United States of America

Thank you for your outstanding hospitality!  The walk home from the beach was heavenly, as the sweet smells of the bush and the soft black sand surrounding area.  I will always cherish the conversation with Alan, Jenny and yourself at dinner, most sincerely, Jean.

6-8.4.2011 Eva Johansson and Martin Sharman, Brussels, Belgium

Martin- It’s very, very hard to write this-not just because it’s goodbye to this lovely place and two wonderful people, but because it seems as if we’ve hardly been here a minute and it’s much too soon to be writing in this book.  And yet in that short minute we’ve done and seen so much.  From interesting discussions over a glass of wine to acrobatic climbing up hillsides and down waterfalls.  You have been the perfect hosts.  For my part, I can’t tell you how much I admire your pioneering energy and vision, creative imagination and respect and love of your country, its geology and its fauna and flora.

Eva- from the minute we saw your website, we knew this was the place to come for our last nights in New Zealand, but we never imagined how enjoyable it would be!  Thank you, thank you for your warm welcome and generous, heartfelt hospitality!  We came as Guests and we leave as friend.  One thing though, we were so busy tramping around that we never got around to using the spa!!  That’ll have to wait for next timeJ

20-22.3.2011 and 3-5.4.2011 from “Pump Engineer” Lee Fook Sin, wife Helen, Singapore ( eldest and retiring brother of Margaret).

Dear Lyn, I love the balcony outside the bedroom.  From there, there is serenity all around wit the foliage, meadows, hills, birds and insects. But in the distance, you can see the roaring waves slaping on the beach, Bethells Beach.  You don’t hear, but you could feel the tiny rush in yourself.  What a great view.  Above all, you make this place greater with your friendliness and hospitality.  Thanks a lot.  Great! Great! Great!

3-5.4.2011 Margaret and family, Singapore,( returning Guest at end of NZ tour with siblings)

Thanks Lyn for the generous discount, if not, I wouldn’t have discovered this wonderful place of yours, and I would definitely have regretted it.  Everything here is beyond words to describe.  Thanks again, will hope to return next time with my children

 1-3.4.2011 Nick and Laura, Sydney, Australia

What amazing hospitality, all the little things really make a difference and thank you for making us feel so welcome.  The accommodation and surrounding area is beautiful and we will be sure to pass this little gem on to our friends and family!!!

1-3.4.2011 Kevin and Sue, Aucklamd

Dear Lyn and Alan, Thank you for this lovely gentle place-your generous hospitality and kindness.  We a needed a restful and revitalising couple of days and have had that and more!  We will be back.  Arohanui.

 20-22.3.2011 Margaret and Alvin, Singapore

Thanks Lyn for the great hospitality, bush walk, lovely house (home away from home), the glow worms, simply wonderful, the whole surrounding area!

20.3.2011 Paul and Nicky. Warkworth, New Zealand

Thank you so much for your generosity and hospitality.  We had a lovely relaxing holiday.  God bless

 15.3.2011 Bjorn and Libby, Auckland, NZ

Woke up, the day after our wedding to beautiful sun, view and stillness.  A much needed and appreciated restful start. The breakfast was amazing, Lyn!  You are a beautiful host.  We will visit again some day.

 10-12.3.2011 Ryan, Zoe, Olivia and Darcy  Perth, Australia

What an amazing and beautiful place to spend our last few days in New Zealand.  We loved the beautiful wlaks, watching the sunset and listening to the birds and insects. Scones were beautiful and food provisions excellent.  Thank you for the wonderful stay, (and letting us bring the kids).  Olivia thinks that this is the best place we stayed in during our holiday.

 5.3.2011 Tania and Tony, Mt Albert, Auckland

Dear Lyn and Alan, thanks for the lovely mini break away from our other life to celebrate 10 years of marriage.  This place is just what I had in my minds eye (and more).  Will see you again, hopefully soon.

 4.3.2011 Amy and Troy, Onehunga, Auckland.

Thanks for a relaxing break, was nice to get out of the city and enjoy the peace and quiet.

 Feb 16, 2011 “Relax and unwind in a fantastic natural place”  Jodi HunterExcellent service and nothing was too much trouble. All the little touches had been thought about to make the stay in such a beautiful environment a delight. Somewhere to come to where simple times and bush, sand and sea is what you desire. We will be returning…

16-21.2.2011 Gerry and Jen, Australia.

Thank you for making us feel most welcome.  Your B&B is a paradise and we truly feel relaxed.  It is the perfect place for a holiday.  We really enjoyed the fresh bread, the nature walk, the recommendations and the spa times.  Hopefully we can come back one day. ps. your scones are amazing!

28-30/1/2011 “Peaceful” Waitakere, Auckland.

Lovely peaceful stay, thanks for everything and all the special touches.”

21-23/1/2011 Michelle and Graham, Auckland.

Thank you for your hospitality, all the special little touches.  What a beautiful place to spend our 29th anniversary, so peaceful and calming. Unfortunately the weather did its best to disrupt our stay-but what better place to be stuck in a storm!  Thank you.

Jan 19, 2011 “Peaceful Getaway” Azeem Haqqani and Tabassu Zareen.,Invercargill, NZ.

Dear Lyn and Alan, We are grateful for the opportunity to live in this beautiful heaven for a few days. Everything about this place and how you are managing it is of the highest quality. Your delightful company, especially on the walk in the bush was great. We would love to come back again hopefully for a

longer stay. Lots of love.

16/1/2011 “Romantic Getaway”  Craig and Sera, Cockle Bay, Auckland.

What an amazing little secret you have here. We have had a wonderful stay. I wish it was a little bit longer. All the special touches were much appreciated. We leave engaged to be married and very happy. Thank you.

 

15/1/2011 Leisa and Andy, Auckland.

What an amazing place. We switched off as soon as we

arrived. Just beautiful. Thank you Lyn and alan for your wonderful

hospitality and the lovely food. We wish we were staying longer but

we will be back.

Jan 14, 2011 “Best place to stay to explore nature and Auckland” Hans and Liesbeth, Holland.

What a joy it was to spend a few days in this beautiful house. We

loved the bush walk by night as well as by daytime! So lucky we found

you on the internet. Your website looked very tempting and so it is in

reality! Thank you for your kindness Lyn, and all the lovely goodies

you gave us. All the best for the future.

Jan 9, 2011 “Hidden West Coast Gem” s01ipsist

Plush self-contained accommodation nestled in the native bush of the

Waitakere’s.

Gorgeous sea views, especially at sunset! It’s a short drive to the

beach but you might be happy relaxing right here, soaking in the spa

or going on the private bush walk – which even has glow worms at

night. The owners are very friendly and provide a fresh home-baked

loaf of bread on your doorstep in the morning to go with the bacon and

eggs.

It’s a great spot for doing the Muriwai-Bethell’s walkway which is one

of my favourite coastal walks, the owners can arrange transport so you

only have to walk one way.

The unit is only a few years old and all the amenities are brand new.

A wonderful hidden gem on Auckland’s West Coast.

Jan 6, 2011 “Loved it!” Anark21 United Kingdom

We stayed here at the end of October, for the first 4 nights of our 6+ weeks in New Zealand and just loved being “out in the bush”. The apartment is huge with large areas of decking and lovely views down to distant Bethells Beach. It was the best equipped B&B; during our holiday- full kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, free wi-fi, flat screen TV, DVD, i-pod docking station etc etc etc and even had access to a spa. A great breakfast is provided for you and is very, very generous.

Loved the freshly baked loaf of bread left for us in the morning.

Friendly hosts who just want you to relax and enjoy your stay. A special place – thank you Lyn for being such a generous, friendly and helpful host. When we next come back to NZ & Auckland – I know where we will be staying…An absolute gem!

24-29.12.2010 Jeremy, Nell and Chance, Sydney, Australia.

Dear Lyn and Alan, a simply wonderful place with everything we could have wished for and more-thank you for the smaller touches like the present for Chancie.  He leaves with a new word, “Tui”.  We will try to return one day-enjoy the passionfruit and Grand MARNIER SAUCE. Anon.

12.12.2010 From Ken and Barbie (Ngaire)

Once again a wonderful relaxing weekend away and as always a truly magical time.  Merry Christmas and may we see you both in the New year.

28.11.2010 Ang and Sam, Auckland.

Thanks for a relaxing break, an escape from the city, a peaceful spot where it is so easy to unwind.  See you soon.

15.11.2010 Annie and Mark, Buckinghamshire, UK.

Thank you for letting us share your fabulous home.  We have really enjoyed our brief stay and wish we could linger longer!  The accommodation is wonderful, food fantastic and views to die for.  We will definitely recommend to all friends and family.  Thank you.

6.11.2010 Kylie and Roger, Auckland.

We said we would return, we have and much sooner than expected!  This time we ran in the Speights West Coaster Run: Roger the 21km and Kylie the 10km which was very demanding but a great achievement.  Once again the spa eased our weary limbs and the peaceful tranquility of this amazing spot made for a memorable and peaceful weekend.  Thanks again to Lyn and Alan for a perfect stay.

28-30.10.2010 Joao and Kathy, Auckland.

Sweet retreat!  A place to reflect on the positive and recharge.  What wonderful Hosts and fabulous eye candy everywhere!

23-26.10.2010 Jonathon and Allison, Sussex, England.

Our first few days in NZ and how we have been spoilt.  Beautiful surroundings, great accommodation and so many delightful treats.  Most of all though, a very big thank you, Lyn and Alan, for being such delightful hosts.

18.10.2010 Elizabeth and Don, Mt Eden, Auckland.

We’ve had a lovely three day in this bushy retreat. We’ve come to know a lot more about the Bethells area.  The Unit is very cosy and the food delicious.  We’ve especially appreciated your friendliness.  Sheila’s Track is great.  Thank you so much.

8-11.10.2010 Kelly and Shaun.

Lyn, this was the perfect place for me to hang out with the girls before our wedding day, and then to share the same memories of the place with my new husband after the wedding.  Thanks for your kind hospitality and making sure we were well cared for.  We will definitely return. Thanks

“What a beautiful and easy walk through a well preserved piece of New Zealand’s lowland forest! A big thanks to The Happys for making their beautiful property accessible for visiting nature lovers!”
Dr. Alexander.H, International Forest Consultant, Germany

“What a beautiful and easy walk through a well preserved piece of New Zealand’s lowland forest! A big thanks to The Happys for making their beautiful property accessible for visiting nature lovers!”

Dr. Alexander.H, International Forest Consultant, Germany

“Thank you for your warm hospitality. We had a wonderful stay in this lovely location. We will return soon!”

Mr and Mrs.M, Just Married, UK

“Beautiful spot.  A real gem.  Thanks for being so welcoming.”

Dave, Auckland NZ

“Thank you so much, what a pleasure staying in such a wonderful place.”

Sean.J, Auckland NZ

“Enjoyed our stay and listening to the early morning birds. Very relaxing and excellent hospitality.”

Adrian and Robyn.R, Auckland NZ

“Thanks Lyn and Alan for sharing your piece of paradise.  The peace, privacy, bush and views made for a truly special retreat. You have succeeded in creating wonderful accommodation that, despite all the mod cons, gets you close to nature.  The bush walk and glow worms are highlights.  Highly recommended for a true getaway, just don’t tell too many people.”

– Richard T, Auckland NZ

“Wonderful hospitality. Thanks for your warm welcome. The view is awesome and so wonderful to wake up to the sounds of the bush.  A restful retreat, thanks so much.”

–  Ken and Anne, Blenheim NZ

“Thank you for such a relaxing and peaceful time in your beautiful lodge.

Your kindness and hospitality is very much appreciated.

Best wishes.”

– Craig and Sue, Warkworth NZ

“Well appointed, splendid isolation, don’t undervalue or downgrade at all. Thanks.”

– Melbourne Australia

“Thank you so much for letting us stay at your beautiful hideaway 🙂

The walk down to the glow-worms was MAGNIFICENT!!!.”

– Jan, Greg and Sophie, Titirangi, Auckland N

“Thank you for wonderful stay.  Your hospitality goes way beyond the course of duty.  The accommodation is excellent-very well appointed and all the mod cons are in supurb condition.  Very comfy bed too!  Thank you- we will highly recommend this to friends..”

– Catherine, Ger and Ash, Orewa NZ

“Thank you so much for your warm hospitality.  We love your beautiful home!  We love the fresh vegetables that you provided for our dinner and the fresh bread was yummy!!  We will be back! :}.”

– Vanmany and Eli, California USA

“Tenei te mihi ki a korua mo to whare a ataahua!!! Tino ataahua.”

– Shane and Sione, Ponsonby, Auckland NZ

“Just what we needed!  Stunning location, beautiful home.  Décor.  Pathway to the door, window frames very tastefully done.  Splendid hospitality that exceeded expectation.  What a find.  We’ll be back!  Thank you.”

– J James and Paula, Waipu Cove, Northland NZ

View bookings calendar and rates

© 2014 Bush Sand and Sea Bed and Breakfast Accommodation